APOY 2014 Competition Results Round 1 – Street Life

We had some excellent entries for round 1 of APOY 2014, and
here we reveal the top 30 photographs from our Street Life round

Sam Rowell, of Lytham St Annes in Lancashire, is the winner of our Street Life round of APOY 2014. Sam will receive an Olympus OM-D E-M10 with a 14-42mm EZ Pancake zoom, a 45mm f/1.8 portrait lens, a 40-150mm zoom, a 9mm fisheye lens, a macro adapter and a street case in which to carry it all.

That’s a total retail price of £1,200. The E-M10 has a 16.1-million-pixel, four thirds-sized CMOS sensor and a TruePic VII image processing system. The 14-42mm EZ Pancake zoom lens is the most compact pancake lens and the 45mm f/1.8 portrait optic is ideal for low-light portrait work without flash.

Our second-placed winner is Dan Deakin of Bristol, who will receive an Olympus Pen E-PL5 camera, plus a 14-42mm and 40-150mm twin-lens zoom kit worth £500. Despite its small size, the E-PL5 offers serious image quality with its powerful 16.1-million-pixel sensor and a new OM-D component in the TruePic VI image processor. It also has lightning-fast autofocus.

Jianwei Yang, from Canada, finished third and wins an
Olympus Stylus SP-100EE Ultra Zoom camera, with a 16-million-pixel sensor and 3in LCD screen. The SP-100EE includes a handy autofocus lock so you need never lose a shot due to fuzzy focusing. The camera also features a 50x optical Ultra Zoom lens with a focal length ranging from 24-1,200mm.

1st Sam Rowell, Lancashire 50pts

Panasonic Lumix DMC-GH3, 7-14mm, 1/160sec at f/4, ISO 200

Peter Sellers

Judges say: ‘Street photography is always a popular subject in APOY and this year was no different. It wasn’t easy picking a winner. However, Sam’s image was one of the real stand-out images. It’s a beautifully observed scene and demonstrates a photographer with a keen eye and a quick hand. The wonderful pools of light on the walls are a compositional bonus that
add interest and balance to the shot. This is a fantastic image.’
2nd Dan Deakin, Bristol 49pts

Panasonic Lumix DMC-GX7, 20mm, 1/80sec at f/1.7, ISO 1600

Kissing Couple

Judges say: ‘This image is by 2012’s overall winner of APOY, Dan Deakin. Dan has recently made a temporary move to Vancouver in Canada for work and in his free time is trying his hand at street photography. It’s paid off, as we can see. This is a shot full of atmosphere. The tonal range is beautifully exposed and really adds to the moment Dan has sneakily captured.’
3rd Jianwei Yang, Canada 48pts

Sony Alpha 55, 16-80mm, 1/320sec at f/5.6, ISO 100


Judges say: ‘Jianwei is a regular in APOY, particularly in our street and urban rounds. He’s a photographer with a distinctive style – strong light, monochrome, abstracts – and as such his images are immediately recognisable. Here we see a beautifully observed image, one that is typical of Jianwei’s strengths as a photographer.’

Top 50 entries for this round:

  • 1 Sam Rowell 50pts
  • 2 Dan Deakin 49pts
  • 3 Jianwei Yang 48pts
  • 4 Chris Wood 47pts
  • 5 Josef Hinterleitner 46pts
  • 6 Bertrand Chombart 45pts
  • 7 Gary Telford 44pts
  • 8 Terry Glynn 43pts
  • 9 John Steven Ball 42pts
  • 10 Jevgenijs Scolokovs 41pts
  • 11 Imants Strangots 40pts
  • 12 James Birtwistle 39pts
  • 13 Andrew Blake 38pts
  • 14 Dusica Paripovic 37pts
  • 15 George Taylor 36pts
  • 16 Darren Wilkin 35pts
  • 17 Sergey Kopyrin 34pts
  • 18 Aaron Bennett 33pts
  • 19 George Fisk 32pts
  • 20 Conrad Ziebland 31pts
  • 21 Marcello Perino 30pts
  • 22 Richard Craze 29pts
  • 23 Thom Corbishley 28pts
  • 24 Adam Nagy 27pts
  • 25 Jake McPherson 26pts
  • 26 Alexey Bulatov 25pts
  • 27 Gagan Singh 24pts
  • 28 Jorge G Silva 23pts
  • 29 Michael Ivanov-Shuvalov 22pts
  • 30 Romana Wyllie 21pts
  • 31 Steven Webb 20pts
  • 32 Garry Fish 19pts
  • 33 Aaron Yeoman 18pts
  • 34 Alex Rosen 17pts
  • 35 Andy Kyriacou 16pts
  • 36 Sean Smith 15pts
  • 37 Sean Slevin 14pts
  • 38 Simon King 13pts
  • 39 Stefano Campedelli 12pts
  • 40 Brian Law 11pts
  • 41 Colin Page 10pts
  • 42 Gerard Sexton 9pts
  • 43 Sean Batten 8pts
  • 44 Eric Emerson 7pts
  • 45 Paul Chambers 6pts
  • 46 Sarah Milne 5pts
  • 47 Trevor Payne 4pts
  • 48 Iain Kent 3pts
  • 49 Vincent Breyer 2pts
  • 50 Ricardo Alarcon 1pt

View the winning Images in the APOY 2014 Gallery

See the APOY 2014 Leader Board after this round.

Results and Rounds APOY 2014