Steve J Sasson was presented with the RPS’s Progress Medal at a ceremony held in London last Thursday.

Sasson developed the digital camera while working at Eastman Kodak in 1975.

The Progress Medal recognises work that has brought about an ‘important advance in the scientific or technological development of photography or imaging’.

Also receiving an RPS award this year was rock musician Brian May who won the Saxby Award for his achievements in 3D imaging.

New York photographer Joel Meyerowitz – who documented the immediate aftermath of the 9/11 attacks on the city – was presented with this year’s Centenary Medal.

For the full list of this year’s winners click HERE.

Click here to read Amateur Photographer’s interview with Brian May last year.

Pictures: Digital camera inventor Steve J Sasson with the world’s
‘first digital camera’; Brian May with RPS president Roy Robertson;
Centenary Medal winner Joel Meyerowitz, Rosemary Wilman, Joe Cornish;
Brian May with Graham Saxby

[Steve Sasson photo credit: Steve Kelly]

[Brian May photo credit: Nick Scott FRPS/RPS]